Skip to main content
Topic: 97 allure 8.3 cummins (Read 1537 times) previous topic - next topic

97 allure 8.3 cummins

I’m new to diesel ownership. My 97 allure runs great but has developed an intermittent problem. I’ve put a few thousand miles on this coach and it has done everything I’ve asked of it. While driving, I always watch my gauges. Recently I noticed the temp gauge rise quickly accompanied by a whine from the rear engine area. I reduced my speed a bit, the whine went away and the temp stabilized rapidly. It did this twice on a 2500 mile round trip. This week I I started a short 3 hour trip and made it about 20 miles before the whine reappeared and the temp rose quickly.  Slowed the rpm’s a bit and the whine and temp again stabilized. My wife forgot her purse. Thus we had return home to fetch it. Twice on the way home the symptoms reared their ugly head. Decided to bag this trip until I figured out the problem. This is the start of the process. Anyone got an opinion as to what’s going on. The temp rises rapidly but  never gets overly hot. My feeling is it involves the turbo. Any advice would be appreciated. Bob

Re: 97 allure 8.3 cummins

Reply #1
Bob,
What type of terrain were you in, hills, etc? I think what you are hearing is your radiator fan controller doing its thing. If you watch your temp gauge, do you notice the louder noise when the temp rises and then when the temp falls, the noise goes away? If so, that is normal.

The coach should run about 190 plus or minus. If the temp goes up into the 200 range, the fan controller will speed up the fan to cool things back down. Without knowing  your definition of "overly hot" is there is to much to assume.
'02 Intrigue #11427

Reply #2